About target area



The rural region of Western Mecklenburg is located in north-eastern Germany at the very south-west of the Baltic Sea in between the metropolitan areas of Hamburg and Berlin. Western Mecklenburg is one of four Planning Regions in the Federal State of Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania. The Planning Region Western Mecklenburg is formed by 

  • the federal state capital Schwerin,
  • the hanseatic City of Wismar,
  • and the counties of Ludwigslust, Parchim and Northwestern-Mecklenburg. 

The total area of Westmecklenburg is 6999 km² with 486.000 inhabitants (69,4 inhabitants/km²). Westmecklenburg has 110 km of Baltic Sea shoreline of which 40 km are beach. 

Land use numbers for Western Mecklenburg are:

  • agricultural land (64%),
  • forests (23%),
  • built land (7%),
  • lakes and rivers (4%).

The Western Mecklenburg Regional Planning Association coordinates the activities in the German Target Area.

In Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania, regional planning associations are the local government authorities responsible for spatial planning. Planning associations are bodies governed by public law on the principle of the special purpose association of local authorities.

The duty of the Regional Planning Association is to draw up a Regional Spatial Structure Plan (on basis of the Federal State Spatial Structure Plan) and the coordination of spatially relevant sectoral planning (settlement structure, infrastructure, environment e.g.). The existing instruments to fulfil these duties divide into formal (spatial planning procedure, regional spatial planning programmes, statements and appraisals) and informal (regional management and marketing, cooperation and project work) instruments.